Roundnet, commercially called Spikeball, is a physical sport that uses the concept of volleyball. When learning how to play Roundnet, one of the terms you will often hear is “pocket”. In case you don’t know, a pocket in Spikeball is simply the space between the net and the frame.
Also, during a game of Spikeball, a pocket occurs when the ball makes contact with the outer parts of the net, close enough to the frame. When this happens, the ball’s trajectory is altered. Although a pocket is playable during normal play, it will only be considered a fault during a point serve.
What is a “pocket” in Roundnet play? Do pockets count in Spikeball? What happens if the ball hits the pocket during a game of Spikeball? Read on to find out everything you need to know about the above frequently asked questions.
What is a pocket in Spikeball?
Roundnet, invented in 1989, has so far received a lot of favor from many people in the United States and in several other countries around the world. Today, the game is played by over 4 million players worldwide. “Hinder,” “server,” “returnner” and “pocket” are just a few of the many terminologies used in the game of Spikeball.
A Roll-Up or Pocket is when the ball makes contact with the net and then rolls up into the frame. If this happens during a serve, it is a fault and the serving team can re-serve. If a roll-up or pocket occurs during normal play, the rally continues.
Types of pockets in Spikeball
There are three different types of pockets in the game of Spikeball: side pocket, back pocket and front pocket.
- Side pocket : According to the official Spikeball rules, a side pocket can occur during a serve or point play. During a serve, a side pocket occurs when the server hits the ball against the net and the ball hits a side section of the net. In this case, the horizontal path of the ball changes to the opposite direction.
- Back pocket : A “back pocket” can also occur after the server hits the ball or during play. In a point serve, a “back pocket” occurs when the server hits the ball against the net and the ball hits the back or side of the net. When this happens, the vertical path of the ball becomes steeper, instead of moving in the opposite direction, as in the case of the side pocket.
- Front pocket : A “front pocket” is also called “near the net”. It can occur during a point serve and play. A “front pocket” often occurs when a server serves the ball against the net and it hits the front of the net. In this case, the vertical path of the ball drops.
Do pockets count in Spikeball?
As mentioned earlier, “pocket” is one of the most complicated terms in Spikeball. Its usage varies depending on where you play. One of the most common questions asked by Roundnet players regarding the term “pocket” is: Does it count during play?
Yes, a pocket can count during play depending on the type encountered.
For example, a “back pocket” is legal and since it is, it counts in Spikeball. However, you should keep in mind that there are exceptions to this rule. According to the recently revised service height and back pocket rule on the official ASF website, a back pocket is considered a fault when the ball does not advance.
Back pockets are legal with the exception of :
It is a foul on a back pocket if the ball does not move forward. Each part of the ball must land beyond the furthest point of the plate from the horizontal entry angle of the ball (article 184.108.40.206.3. of the official Spikeball rules).
As for the “front pocket”, the rule of the game has always stipulated that, as long as the vertical trajectory of the ball does not go down, it is legal and counts in Spikeball. In addition, a “side pocket” can also be considered legal if, after touching the side of the net, the ball does not move in the opposite direction.
In summary, the side pocket, front pocket and back pocket are never a foul in Spikeball. Since this is the case, it means that all three pockets could count depending on the path of the ball.
What about back pockets that go high but land in front of the receiver?
This is legal. Height is determined by where the ball hits or passes the receiver, so a ball that goes high and lands in front of the receiver is legal. If the receiver runs forward and touches the ball over his shoulder, it is a height violation and a foul. In discussing this rule, one of the main considerations was to create more points played without making the receiver’s job impossible. Since these types of serves are generally easy for receivers to handle, we want to see them played.
What happens if the ball hits the pocket in Spikeball ?
To answer this question, we will say that what happens depends on how the ball hits the pocket during a game of Spikeball. If, after hitting the round net, the ball hits the pocket, which is the space between the net and the frame, the trajectory of the ball will be changed.
For example, for a “front pocket” in Spikeball, the vertical trajectory of the ball will be lower. In the case of a “side pocket”, the horizontal trajectory of the ball will change in the opposite direction. Finally, for a “back pocket” in Spikeball, the vertical trajectory of the ball will be steeper.